We’ve had some serious stuff happening down here in Oz recently, what with floods drenching half the country and bushfires raging on the west coast. It gets one thinking about the important things, so today I want to address one of those things that’s been on my mind…

Is the hairy chest back in?

I'm glad they're updating the hairdo

One thing I’ve been looking forward to this week is the premiere of the new updated version of Hawaii Five O. I’ve loved shows and movies set in Hawaii ever since the original series played on the small screen. That opening shot with Jack Lord whipping his head around, perfectly coiffed hair immobile, to stare down the barrel of that camera like he was going to wipe all criminal scum from the face of the earth. I LOVED it.

Then there was one of my secret crushes… actually I never made much of a secret about it. Oh Tom, why did you never reply to my letter? Sob sob. When Tom Selleck roared onto my TV screen in his sleek red Ferrari, in those teeny tiny shorts and the ridiculous floral shirt, I so wanted to BE Magnum PI. Or I would have settled for just once running my fingers through that manly pelt of chest hair. Come on, you know you wanted to as well.

I don’t care what anyone else says, he was YUMMY.

Now they’ve remade the original Hawaii Five O series, and I have say proudly that Australia’s own Alex O’Loughlin is going to reprise the role of Steve McGarrett. Honestly not every Aussie Guy looks like this one, but in a perfect world they would.

Another hairy chested Hawaii-based hunk to drool over. Book me Danno, then Steve can frisk me. He’s not a furry as Tom but there’s definite fuzz. And to think when they designed my cover for Sunset Knight they said it was too difficult to find hairy chested models for the covers, although I wrote Brody with a hairy chest. Will the tide turn now? I hope so.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a smooth chest as much as the next girl, but variety is the spice of life. Let’s give the furry pecs a go, shall we? Surely Alex can turn even the most dedicated smooth-chested fan.

What do you think?

Sami

