January, Schmanuary.

I’ve decided I hate January. It is December’s hangover and it lasts all month. It’s hot. It’s my dayjob anniversary every January (7 years and counting). I’m trying not to eat tubs and tubs of ice-cream (traditionally known as dieting). I’m sapped of energy, what due to the heat, the hunger and the lack of motivation for driving to the aforementioned dayjob. Even the kids are starting to get bored and can’t wait to go to school.

Summer holidays. Who needs ‘em?

Why am I moaning about all this? Because the January Syndrome (I’ve given it a name) effects my writing. I’m in a slump, and as it’s the 3rd January in a row I’ve found myself in this particular slump, I think it’s an ongoing condition. I finished one book… but I only had 3k left to write on it. I’m doing edits… but I’ve been faffing about, sleeping in through writing time and not getting them finished. Due by the end of the weekend, people. Ugh.

AND to top it all off, I haven’t blogged! First week of the month I was going to giveaway my QLD Firefighter’s calendar, because that’s the most appropriate time to give away calendars, I hear. But no. I haven’t even had the strength to lift my little fingers to do that. SOOOOOOOO… late as it might be I figure I had better give it away now.

How’s that for an enthusiastic announcement? Okay, how’s this?

WHO WANTS A HOT FIREMAN EVERY NIGHT OF THE YEAR?

YOU, THAT’S WHO!

I have a hot, signed Qld Firefighter’s Calendar to give away to one lucky commenter. Yes, I had it endorsed myself, not once, but twice! This is Mr August

My Fireman

He he. I promised my husband he didn’t cop a feel, he was the perfect gentleman (funny, he never asked if I copped a feel…). It’s also been signed by November, a very cute guy by the name of Andrew. If I’d had a friend with me at the time, I would have insisted on a shot with both of them. Ooohhh naughty. But young Andrew had to take the picture. I promise, he did. And he was totally cute. Did I mention that?

If you want one of these delicious calendars, AND a signed copy of my print book ERICA’S CHOICE, all you have to do is comment on this post. Tell me what you HATE about January. I know it’s snowing like mad in the Northern Hemisphere, so your experiences are way different. Tell me about them! Or if you’re one of those sunny people loves everything, tell me what’s so great about it. I’ll leave comments open for a week and also share this on Facebook and Twitter etc. If you comment there you’ll also go in the draw.

I’ll pick a winner on Australia Day 26th of January (Sunday) and announce it next week.

See you around the Nets. I’ll be the one trying to smile :)))))))))))))))))))))

GOOD LUCK!

Love

Sami

