Today, I got to do something pretty bloody amazing. Awesome, in fact. But before I tell you what it was, let me give you a little background info on me.

I’m a bit of a car freak. What I mean to say is, I love cars. Particularly fast cars. As I grew, I began to develop a keen sense of the sexual nature of cars. There were some cars that just made the pit of my belly…tight. The first car to do so was the green E-Type Jag my Dad’s best friend had sitting in his garage. Then there was the Ferrari from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

It wasn’t until I was old enough to understand what was going on that I realised the sexual attraction of the humble automobile. I mean, really, isn’t this sexy?

Growing up in the country, I drove tractors a lot (I drove my first tractor at eight) but my parents, the sane people they are, wouldn’t let me get behind the wheel of the family car – a V8 Holden Commadore (similar to a Chevy saloon for the US visitors) – because they knew what would happen. My dad rode a motorbike, a massive Yamaha 1500, and that was also off-limits. The first car I was allowed to drive was a 1983 clapped-out 3-cylinder Diahatsu Charade.

I loved that car. It was so slow it couldn’t get out of its own way, it was a faded canary yellow, it had a baby-poo brown interior and a wonky left turn indicator that only worked when the car thought I should be turning left, not when I actually was turning left, but I loved it all the same. The trouble was, it didn’t go fast. And it didn’t sound fast. And it sure as hell didn’t look sexy.

I’m not sure when it was I first started my obsession with Audis. I was still young enough to be silly but old enough to appreciate how expensive they were. I’ve driven more than one awesome automobile in my time since becoming a “grown up” (Volvo XC90, Suburu WRX Sti, WV Golf GTI to name a few) but there’s always been something about Audis that gets me. In that low place in my belly that usually only response to other types of stimuli.

Today, I discovered one really really can be turned on by a car. Today, I got to drive an Audi R8 Spyder.

For those of you who don’t know what an Audi R8 Spyder is, here you go.

Because my husband is awesome (and because some other people think he’s awesome too), I got to spend most of today driving behind the wheel of a 2010 Audi R8 Spyder. This is the car Robert Downey Jnr drove in Iron Man 2.

I don’t have Tony Stark’s money (nor does my husband, damn it *grin*) but for a while today, I got to pretend I did. And during the hours I spent behind the wheel of a $400,000 AU super-car, I realised that it is possible to be turned on by a car. Honestly. And honestly, I don’t think I stopped grinning the whole time I was driving (or maybe it was the way the engine vibrated through the car? LOL Kidding! *grin*)

Anyway, so, the question I ask you now is what car, if any, turns you on the most? (Or am I the only weird chick who thinks cars are sexy?)

 

 

Say Cheese, Lexxie!

 

Now, I’m going to watch Iron Man 2 again. Just so I can say “hey, I’ve driven one of those!” when he pulls up in his Audi R8 (Yes, I truly am that lame *grin*)

