divagate \DAHY-vuh-geyt\, verb:

1. To wander; stray.
2. To digress in speech.

I thought it must have meant a scandal involving the divas (wink).

I love my word of the day emails, although the vast majority of them I receive are flat out ridiculous words I would never use in a million years. i.e. consanguineous \kon-san(g)-GWIN-ee-us\, adjective:Of the same blood; related by birth; descended from the same parent or ancestor. Next time I go to write something like “Man, you’re like a brother to me.” I could instead go with “Our bond is consanguineous.” Yeah, I can see that working.

Or then there’s nympholepsy \NIM-fuh-lep-see\, noun: 1. A frenzy of emotion, as for something unattainable. 2. An ecstasy supposed by the ancients to be inspired by nymphs. How could a word like nympholepsy not have a satisfyingly dirty meaning? I suppose I could use it. Jane went into a nympholeptic fit when she saw the hunk across the room, she wanted him so bad. Seeing Daniel Craig in his tight blue swim trunks sends me into a state of nympholepsy. Actually I quite like that :).

But divagate, that’s a bit more useful. For instance I am currently at a point in ms rewrites where I am divagating a lot. Following little paths I never intended to follow initially, but which now prove too tempting to resist. I have to keep stopping to remind myself I might not need that bit. I’m supposed to be cutting, not adding. But revisions are fraught with dangers such as this—the realisation that the quick edit of chapter 2 will inevitably become a complete revision involving POV changes, which in turn leads to the realisation that draft 3 (or is it 4 or 5?) will take a lot longer to work through than originally thought. Sigh.

With kids in a frenzy due to being stuck indoors (yes sunny Queensland is blanketed by rain AGAIN this weekend), I’m beginning to feel somewhat perturbed that this opus of mine won’t reach it’s ultimate locus before the eve of yuletide, which was my most fervent aspiration.  Protracted exhalation.

Have a transcendent weekend all.

Sami

 

