Okay, so I’ve become a little obsessed with this show. I have to admit, I haven’t read the books by  George R. R. Martin on which this television series is based (which is quite suprising seeing as I’ve read just about every other amazing high-fantasy series out there) but damn, I’m thinking I may have to go buy them now. If you don’t know what Game of Thrones is, in nut shell, its a bloody brilliant show from HBO set in a medieval realm of knights and courts and egotistical kings and plotting family members. It’s totally awesome, amazingly acted, brilliantly realised and so damn complicated with its political machinations I need a Viewer’s Guide open beside me at all times.

Every episode, my husband and I need to consult the Guide to figure out who is deceiving who, which family is sworn fealty to which family, who killed who, who impregnated who and who is going to sleep with who next.

There’s a dwarf with a wickedly sharp intellect who proudly calls himself the Imp…

The Imp

twin brother and sister lovers (yeah, you heard me correctly)…

Brother and sisterly love...

a vacuous-seeming blonde who is far more clued-in than she appears…

Not as blonde as she would have you believe...

foolish kings, secretive eunuchs, traitors, horse warriors, dire wolves and a constant hinting at truly high-fantasy stuff like dragons and “wildlings”…

Wild eyes, eh.

And in amongst it all is Sean Bean, being noble and honest and just.

Ned Stark. Oh, so noble...

Honestly, if you don’t watch this show, start. Even if fantasy isn’t your thing, watch it anyways. The political intrigue alone will drive you mental and make you a Game of Thrones groupie. And if not the amazing plot, the (almost) gratuitous sex scenes will 😉

I’ve done a shoddy job of raving about it, I know (there’s a very good reason I rarely review anything I read or watch *grin*) but check out the trailer for the series and see what I’m talking about.

Sooo, are there any Game of Thrones watchers out there? Or readers of the books? (And if so, care to tell me who ends up being king by the end of the entire series? *grin*)

