Those of you who know me, will know I am not a big fan of historical/regency romance. (With a few exceptions of course!)

Given the choice, I will select almost any other genre other than regencies. Yet over the past couple of weeks I’ve read not just one, but two regencies that I have thoroughly enjoyed.

The first one I would never even have heard about but for a chance meeting at RT 11. There I was standing in line for the “Free Books Room” (Yes, any romance readers dream – a room full of free books that we could select seven of and keep. Forever) and a woman standing behind me starts chatting to me. She was lovely. Warm, friendly and quite excited. See, it turned out, one of her books was piled up in that lovely room. The woman’s name? Kieran Kramer. And her book? A novel called “When Harry Met Molly.”

Soon as she told me the title, I knew I’d have to read the book. After all, it is a play on one of my favorite movies ever: When Harry Met Sally. It was my first choice in that fantastic room.

When Harry Met Molly

When Harry Met Molly

He’s always been a player.
Dashing Lord Harry Traemore is perfectly content to live out his days in the pursuit of pleasure. But when he’s named by the Prince Regent as one of society’s “Impossible Bachelors,” Harry is drafted into a ribald romantic wager. The rules of engagement are scandalously simple: The bachelor whose mistress wins the title of “Most Delectable Companion” gets to remain unmarried. Harry is utterly unconcerned about his status…until his latest lightskirt abandons him.

Who will win this game of love?
Enter Lady Molly Fairbanks. Harry’s childhood friend—actually, “foe” is more like it—is the most unlikely companion of all. She’s attractive but hot-headed, and in no mood for games. Besides, what could the self-indulgent Harry possibly know about what makes a woman delectable? It’s time for Molly to teach him a lesson once and for all…but will it lead to “happily ever after?”

Ah, the book was an absolute delight. Seriously? I thoroughly enjoyed it. Enough to jump on Amazon, and download the next three books in the Impossible Bachelors series. And who wouldn’t want to download them with titles like these:

Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right

Cloudy with a Chance of Marriage and

If You Give a Girl a Viscount.

(Unfortunately, none of these books is available yet on Kindle, and Book 3, If You Give  A Girl a Viscount, only releases in Sep.)

The next book I read was another gift from RT 11. A book by Sabrina Jeffries, called How to Woo a Reluctant Lady.

This was  a book I hadn’t even intended to take home. One look at the cover told me it was a regency, and therefore not my cup of tea. However, someone (either Lexxie or Sami) told me I should really give the book a try, because the series, The Hellions of Halstead Hall, had received brilliant reviews.

I took it. I read it. I loved it.

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady


Lady Minerva Sharpe has the perfect plan to thwart her grandmother’s demand that she marry by year’s end:  become engaged to a rogue!  Surely Gran would rather release her inheritance than see her wed a scoundrel. 

And who better to play the part of Minerva’s would-be husband than wild barrister Giles Masters, the very inspiration for the handsome spy in the popular gothic novels she writes?  The memory of his passionate kiss on her nineteenth birthday has lingered with Minerva, though she has no intention of falling for such a rakehell, much less marrying him!

Little does she know, Giles really is a covert government operative.  When the two team up to investigate the mystery behind her parents’ deaths, their fake betrothal leads to red-hot desire. Then Minerva discovers Giles’s secret double life, and he must use all the cunning tricks of his trade to find his way back to her heart.

    

So to Kieran Kramer and to Sabrina Jeffries:

Thank you. For writing such wonderfully entertaining books, and more than that, for giving them as gifts at Rt 11.

Your generosity has definitely got you both a brand-new, all-reformed fan.

Jess

