It’s that time of year again.

The time when schools around the country close their doors, and children are not allowed in. Unfortunately.

Yes, it’s school holidays. Which means that no matter how organized you are, and no matter how many activities you have planned for your children, they are going to be spending a great deal more of their time at home than they usually do.

Now, I love my kids. Immeasurably. That’s never in question. And yes, the thoughts of sleeping in a little later than usual, and not rushing to get kids dressed and ready for school, and not having to make school lunch in the morning, are all wonderfully seductive. But the truth is school holidays have a tendency to test my patience a little more than usual. Or perhaps I should say kids on school tend to test my patience a little more than usual. (Am I the queen of understatement or what?)

I know that I am not alone in feeling this way. I’ve yet to meet a mother who doesn’t want to tear her hair out at the very suggestion of a school holiday.

Just today I received an email from someone (I shall not mention names) suffering this exact malady. Apart from her usual (madly busy) work schedule, she had the children at home with her. Her exact words were:

“Ahhhhh… Kids crawling all over me. Kids fighting. Kids bored. Kids hungry. Kids whining. Kids watching too much TV. Kids taking apart ceiling fans with no supervision….”

I truly believe she essentially summarized what every one of us goes through during school holidays. Well, except maybe for the taking the ceiling fan apart bit… 😉

So I thought today I would impart some wise words of wisdom that someone was kind enough to impart to me just yesterday. This here is a little message about how best to deal with children when they have one of ‘those moments.” And yes, during school holidays, they do tend to have a lot of “those moments.”

Tough Love vs. Spanking – Good Argument

Most people think it improper to spank children, so I have tried other methods to control my kids when they have one of  ‘those moments.’

One that I found effective is for me to just take the child for a car ride and talk.

Some say it’s the vibration from the car, others say it’s the time away from any distractions such as TV, Video Games, Computer, IPod, etc.

Either way, kids usually calm down and stop misbehaving after our car ride together.  Eye to eye contact helps a lot too.

I’ve included a photo below of one of my sessions with my son, in case you would like to use the technique.


Sincerely,
Your Friend,

X

PS: This works with grandchildren, nieces, and nephews as well.   

Hope you find this as useful as I did.

😀

Happy holidays

Jess

