Well. The day has arrived, the one I never really thought would come. The one that, when I was twenty, seemed farther away than the other side of the world.

I woke up this morning 40 years old.

On the one hand I can’t help but wonder what the hell I did with the last twenty years. On the other, my body is telling me I’ve lived every single day of the past two decades. At the age of twenty I never even tried to imagine what I’d be doing when I was 40, so I’m not taking stock of my life, nor trying to assess if I’ve achieved all I wanted to. I’m not much of a goal setter, me. Take each day as it comes and be thankful for it, that tends to be how I do things. But hitting one of life’s milestones does make a girl wonder if she’s happy with where she is in her life and what she has. So, am I?

Hell, yes.

I have a great husband (eg. today’s birthday surprise=diamond earings and a stack of cards entitling me to all sorts of favours like writing days and foot rubs, no sexual payment required! Well, unless that’s the catch :)). I have two healthy, gorgeous, intelligent kids, a couple of dynamite little girls who I’m positive will one day either rule the world or destroy it (either way I’d be proud of the achievement :)). I have great friends, both in the real world and online. I have my health. I have if not a mentally stimulating day job, it’s at least something that gets me out of the house and doesn’t require me to wear a name badge or take abuse from the public (impossible to forget the many years spent waiting tables and tending bar).

And last but certainly not least, I’m a published author. That is something I dreamt of when I was twenty, but they were nebulous dreams, sort of ‘one day I might have a crack at that’ imaginings. It was never an ambition, nor was it something I really envisaged achieving. But somehow, with no road map, no plan and very little earthly clue of what I was doing a lot of the time, I did it.

I’d say I’m a pretty good argument for taking each day as it comes.

Have a great day everyone, I’ll be having several drinks for you all tomorrow at my Mad Hatter Tea Party, which I consider to be the last time I can get away with drinking too much and acting completely immature. Or maybe not.

Sami

PS. Check out my list of five things you can’t do when you’re 40 at Sami’s Scribbles

