So, moving away from romance and erotica for a while, here’s something you may not know about me.

I am obsessed with whales. Absolutely love them. I am also pretty ignorant about them. If a whale swam past me, I wouldn’t be able to identify what kind of it was. (Well, maybe with the exception of a killer whale, humpback or blue whale.)

But my ignorance doesn’t stop me from staring out at the ocean continually during the winter months. Because that’s when the whales start their migration north. Rarely a day goes by when I do not get to see those massive clouds of spray/blow, bursting from the ocean surface. That in itself is enough to get my heart beating madly. But every now and again I see a whale breach, or glimpse their tales and fins as they dive and jump, and I swear, I couldn’t get more excited winning a lottery. I confess to driving my kids a little batty by continually making them jump out the car and race to the cliff’s edge near our house – just in case a whale, or a pod of whales, may be swimming by.

A couple of weeks ago, one of these wild races was richly rewarded. Not only did we get to see a humpback repeatedly breaching, we got to see something incredibly rare: the breaching humpback was white. We were too far away to see the whale’s whole body, so I cannot be one hundred percent sure the whale was totally white. But the thrill of seeing a whale so different from the norm…well, it was exhilarating.

Now, in keeping with this post, here’s a video someone sent me about a team of people from The Great Whale Conservancy saving a whale caught up in fishing nets.

Watch it. It’s amazing.

Jess

