I’ve been making some little lists of late of favourite things. TV shows, desserts, romance tropes, songs, heroes, sex positions, that kind of thing. Let’s have a look at one of them, shall we?

1/ Zoe Archer’s Gabriel Huntley (Warrior)

A week ago, this would have been Karen Marie Moning’s Barrons, but a week ago, I started reading Warrior, and fell so deeply, wonderfully, irrevocably in love with Gabriel Huntley I get funny little pains in my heart when I think of him. He’s strong, funny, dangerous, powerful, noble, tender, fierce…oh, Lord, I could go on and on. Trust me, if you haven’t read Zoe Archer’s Warrior, do so. Now. You won’t regret it, I promise.

2/ Karen Marie Moning’s Jericho Barrons (Fever series)

Okay, I know there are people out there who think Barrons is a douche. An arrogant douche. But I’m not one of them. Yes, he’s arrogant. Yes, he’s condescending. Yes, he treats Mac like a little child at times, but he’s also utterly mysterious, completely enigmatic, thoroughly menacing and totally sexy. And when you finally get to see the softer side of him….oh, boy, all the doucheness is forgiven.

3/ Julia Garwood’s Lord Baron Duncan of Wexton (Honor’s Splendour)

A brooding gentleman knight who could have gone the whole “rape-the-heroine” route of so many historical romance novel of the 80s, but instead, in Garwood’s inevitably sweet way, protected the damsel-in-distress, fell in love and did the right thing of marriage, all before taking her virginity and then defying the king to stand by his love. And he has a dimple. Gotta love a knight with a dimple.

 

4/ Jennifer Crusie’s Phineas Tucker (Welcome to Temptation)

A small-town mayor who just wants to play pool. He does everything he can to a/ not fall in love with the duplicitious heroine, Sophie, and b/ turn a blind eye to what said heroine is doing in his small town. But when the chips are down, he steps up to the challenge…with some very sexy, very droll, very dry humour.

5/ MaryJanice Davidson’s Sinclair (the Undead series)

Holy moley, this vampire king. Powerful, arrogant, controlling, sarcastic, intelligent…with a blade-sharp sense of humour and a killer smile. And he puts up with the woman he loves regardless of how bloody annoying Queen Betsy gets. Yeah, I love Sinclair. He reminds me a hell of a lot of my husband…

 

Sooo….who are your favourite romance book heroes?

 

