It’s my day on the blog and it’s a Tuesday which means teaser day! Woot!

Here’s a taste of my current wip (which, by the way, I sent the proposal for to my editor less than 30 mins ago). SSS is kind of a sequel to Bondi Beach Boys. Let me know what you think. Enjoy! 🙂

*****

“Open it.” She frowned at the rude tone of her voice. “Please.” The tacked-on courtesy did nothing to soften the demand.

Rand chuckled as he twisted off the bottle cap and handed the open beer back. “You really are in a foul mood.”

Sunni didn’t answer, there didn’t seem to be anything to say. She was in a foul mood and although she wanted to, she couldn’t lay complete blame at the feet of her rat bastard date. No. This evening’s debacle was just the last in a long line of disastrous attempts to find the man of her dreams. Her chest rose and fell on a heavy sigh as she slumped back against the lounge.

“It couldn’t have been that bad.” Rand bumped his shoulder into hers. “Wanna tell me what happened? It might help.”

She closed her eyes. “I’m not sure I want anyone to know the circumstances of this one.”

“Oh, I know. The guy arrived naked with a one inch dick hanging between his legs.”

Beer fizzed up into Sunni’s nose as she snorted with laughter. Covering her mouth so the rest of her mouthful didn’t come spilling out she tried to swallow. Humor quickly turned to distress when she choked on the drink. Rand plucked the beer from her hand and placed it on the table beside the couch while thumping her on the back in an attempt to help clear her airways. Managing to gulp down the beer, she gasped for breath.

“Jesus.” Her chest heaved as she coughed out her words. “Way to kill me, Rand.” With her breathing under control she spoke easily. “Not an image I wanted in my head Brandon Davis.”

“At least it made you laugh. Before you choked.” He continued to pat her on the back. “You really should stop drinking, Sunshine. You can’t handle booze at all.”

“Hey!” Sunni punched him in the arm. “I can handle a drink just fine, it’s the nosy, annoying so-called friends that upset me.”

“Ha!” He chucked her under the chin with his fist. “You love me and you know it.”

“Of course I do.” Sunni reached over and grabbed her beer. She carefully took a sip and allowed the cool liquid to soothe her raw throat. “Doesn’t mean I won’t kill you in your sleep.”

“Why are we killing Rand in his sleep?” Z asked from the doorway.

“Because he tried to kill me. Twice.”

“Twice? How?”

“First he tried to fry my brain with my own imagination and when that didn’t work he relied on the tried and true method of choking.” Next to her, Rand shook with the laughter he was unsuccessfully concealing behind his hand.

“I see he failed in both attempts. Do you want me to ring the police and have him carted away?”

Sunni eyed a now openly laughing Rand. “Mmm…no, I think a suitable punishment would be for him to order and pay for pizza.”

“Hey! It’s not my turn.”

“Shoulda thought of that before you tried to do me in.” Sunni poked Rand in the ribs with her index finger.

“Paying for pizza seems a fair price for such a terrible crime.” Z walked over to the couch and offered her his hand. “And it just so happens I picked up some of your favorite flavor of ice cream while I was shopping. Come and help me put the food away while Rand organizes dinner.”

“You bought food?” Sunni allowed Z to pull her to her feet.

“Sure did.” He curled his fingers through hers. “I’ve been making a list of what we’ve used in the last two weeks so that I could replace it. I know how it pisses you off to find the cupboards empty.”

“Aw, my hero.”

“That’s fine. You steal my girl with your promise of sweet desert but she’ll be mine again the minute the pepperoni pizza gets here.”

“Now, now, no need to fight over me. I’ll let you share.” Sunni slammed into Z’s back as he stopped dead in his tracks.

Z looked over his shoulder at Rand with raised eyebrows.

“She’s tipsy, she doesn’t mean what she said.”

“What? What don’t I mean? What did I say?” Sunni swiveled her gaze back and forth between her two friends.

“Christ.” A shudder rippled down Z’s spine. “Come on, let’s get this food put away before it goes off.”

*****

Rhian

www.rhiancahill.com

