This week, thousands of parents around New South Wales celebrated that long awaited day: First day of school. I confess, I was one of those delighted parents.

Yes, I love and adore my children. Yes, I love spending time with them, but is there a single parent out there who will argue with that old saying about too much of a good thing?

For me, the summer holidays become just that. Too much of a good thing. So you can well imagine my delight when on Tuesday morning, I pulled up outside the school, the car door opened, and Mr 7 and Mr 10 tumbled out, not to be seen again for 7 whole hours! Bliss, I tell you. Bliss.

However, back to school brought with it a couple of not so blissful issues. Issues one tends to forget about during holidays…

1) Waking up at the crack of dawn. Hate it. Always have, always will. I am not, I repeat, not, a morning person.

2) Waking the kids up half an hour after the crack of dawn. It’s an exercise in futility. Getting those two lumps out of bed on a school morning is impossible. Can someone please explain how two children who bound out of their rooms at 6am every morning in the holiday cannot get up when they have no choice?

3) Yelling like a mad woman…to get the kids dressed, their teeth cleaned, breakfasts in their bellies and the school bags packed and ready to go by 7.50. (Never happens, BTW. We have never left the house on time. Ever.)

4) School lunch. This one is possibly my pettiest pet hate of all. Those of you with a canteen in school may never experience the evils of preparing school lunch every single day of the week. Perhaps if it were just lunch, it wouldn’t be so bad. But there’s early morning nibble and mid morning snack as well. And perhaps, preparation would be easier if the two boys ate the same food. God forbid. No, there is nothing similar about the foods they eat. Nothing at all.

5) School zone speed traps. From 8 – 9.30am and from 2.30 to 4pm, these zones are enforced. Which means you have to slow down to a snail’s pace while racing to get to  school on time – or risk losing loads of points off your driver’s license.

6) Pick up. The school has a pretty cool system for picking the kids up. Instead of struggling to find a parking space in an area where there is absolutely no parking, you can line up, in your car, on the road along the side of the school. Kids are then called to your car one at a time. Which would be fantastic…if the road were long enough to fit all the cars. But it isn’t. Seriously, as soon as ten or fifteen cars have pulled up, the road is full, and you simply cannot get in line. Your only choice is to either arrive at school very early in hopes of getting a spot (and yeah, we all have time for that, don’t we?) or circle the school endlessly until the line finally diminishes and you can sneak into it.

I won’t even mention other issues, like getting the kids to bed by their bedtime, or fighting with them to do homework, or limiting their TV time during the week. Nope, I  won’t mention them at all. In fact, I might just stop talking about all these issues, because strangely, I find myself suddenly longing for the holidays again…and it’s only three days into the school term.

Jess

