That the blog looks different. That was me getting a bee in my bonnet (is that an Australian term?), and deciding to spruce up the Divas look. Do you like it? Would love to hear your feedback because I might still be tweaking (haven’t mentioned that to the other divas though :)). You might also have noticed I’m not Rhian. We’ve swapped blogging days for a while and RC will be stopping in on Fridays while I take over Tuesdays.

So, what to talk about on this fine Tuesday? Something that’s been on my mind today is my writing (no kidding). I typed a line of dialogue today and it struck me as familiar. Not familiar like I’m ripping off When Harry Met Sally familiar (and believe me I wish I could come up with something as catchy as baby fishmouth), but familiar as in I know I’ve written this before. Or thought it, I’m not sure which. I’m also not sure that if I did actually write the line before, if it has already appeared in one of my published books or was it something that ended up on the cutting room floor? I’ve written and discarded many, MANY, more words than I’ve had published over the years. How do I know if I’m repeating myself or just polishing an old gem that deserves a chance to shine? If I did repeat myself, would it be the end of the world? Would anyone notice? I mean, it’s not as if my books are being studied at universities the world over.

In any case maybe the line sucks and shouldn’t be used anyway. What do you think? Have bolded the line I’m referring to:

“We’re not having sex tonight, I told you that.”

The fact that he was making a solid effort to keep their bodies separated finally started to penetrate Sarah’s lust-fogged brain. She blinked at him. “Are you kidding me?”

His smile was a mirthless twist of his lips. “I wish I was.”

“But I thought… I assumed…”

“That I was a sure thing?” A little humour seeped into his taut expression. “My, my, should I be insulted?”

Sarah scowled. “David, I’m practically throwing myself at you.”

“Don’t think I don’t appreciate the effort.”

“The effort!” With a vicious yank Sarah pulled the quilt over her body as though it could form a barrier between them. “Don’t flatter yourself!”

He he. I still like it.

Sami

