I was tagged by the utterly insane (and completely wonderful) Aussie author Kylie Scott to do The Next Best Thing Challenge

Here’s how it works:

  • Answer the 10 questions below
  • Spread the fun and tag other writers to participate.

1. What is the title of your book / WIP?
Misplaced Cowboy. It’s the second book in the Foreign Affairs series I’m writing with New York Times Bestselling author, Mari Carr (yeah, I had to get that NYT Bestseller thing in there. I bask in her awesomeness as often as possible *grin*)

2. Where did the idea for this book come from?

The conversation (via email) went something like this:

Me: Mari, I think you’re amazing. Will you please please write something with me?

Mari: Who are you again?

Me: I’ll resort to self-harm. Please? 

Mari: Contact me again and I’ll be calling the police.

Me: Pleeeeeeese? We could write about some hot sexy Aussie stockmen and the feisty American women they seduce. I’ll send you Tim Tams…

Mari: Tim Tams? Okay, I’m in. Who are you again?


3. What genre would your book fall under?

Contemporary cowboy romance…although cowboys aren’t called cowboys in Australia. They’re called stockmen. Or graziers. And the younguns are called jackeroos, a fact Dylan, the Aussie stockman hero points out often to the New Yorkers he meets.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Chris Hemsworth for Dylan Sullivan (the hero)
Chris Hemsworth for Hunter Sullivan (the hero’s identical twin brother)
Natalie Portman for Monet Carmichael (the heroine)
Tom Hiddleston for Phillip (a minor but crucial antagonist)

5. What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

An Aussie cowboy from the Outback finds himself posing as a nude model for a very sexy, fiesty New York artist.

6. Is your book published or represented?
It’s available August 15th from everywhere. But you can pre-order it here at Amazon and here at Barnes and Noble already (yay!)

7. How long did it take you to write it?

Hmmm, a month and a half. I think. Maybe. Errr…I never keep track of this kind of thing.

8. What other books in your genre would you compare it to?
Maya Banks and Loreleigh James’ cowboy romances (yeah, I possibly have delusions of grandeur, but still, it’s pretty bloody good, even if I do say so myself *grin*)

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?

No specific author (unless you count Mari who I wrote it with), but every romance book I’ve read with an American cowboy hero. I read them and thought…I reckon an Aussie stock would measure up quite nicely against these guys. And I guess, to a point, the first Crocodile Dundee movie. Hey, there’s even a “that’s not a knife, that’s a knife” joke in it….kinda. 😉

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in your book.

Apart from the sorta, kinda “that’s not a knife, that’s a knife joke”? (which is mentioned in reference to an appendage on a man’s body, btw). Well, it’s three different love stories in one: a love story between a man and a woman, a love story to New York and a love story to Australia. How’s that? Did it pique your interest at all?

Misplaced Cowboy

Foreign Affairs, Book Two

Flying halfway ’round the world to meet his potential soul mate sounds like a fine idea to Dylan Sullivan-until he discovers said soul mate, Annie, has gone looking for him. In Australia. Now Dylan’s adrift, a bloke from the Outback alone in the bloody big city. Until he’s rescued by Monet, a gorgeous local artist . . . and Annie’s best friend.

A dyed-in-the-wool New Yorker, Monet has never met anyone like Dylan. Taking temporary care of the sizzling-hot cowboy is easy; he’s friendly, funny and interesting. Keeping her hands off him is decidedly not easy. That horny accent, that killer grin . . . and as a successful artist, Monet is very much a hands-on sort of girl.

Dylan and Monet hold back until they learn Annie is engaged in her own foreign affair in Oz. Then all bets-and clothes-are off. But it can only be a fling. An Aussie cowboy doesn’t belong in New York any more than a city girl belongs in the Outback.

Now if only their hearts would listen.

You can check out Misplaced Cowboy here at Ellora’s Cave, here at Amazon and here at Barnes and Noble.

While you’re there, also take a look at Misplaced Princess, the first book in the series and the book belonging to the afore mentioned Hunter Sullivan.

Now, tag time.

I’m tagging my fellow Down Under Divas, Sami Lee, Jess Dee and Rhian Cahill, as well as my fellow writer-in-crime Mari Carr. Let’s see what interesting facts we discover…

