Today we have a very special guest, a writer I’ve known since our very first books were published by Samhain back in 2007. Caitlyn has gone on to become a blogger of some note, a harried mother of two rambunctious daughters (my there are a lot of us!), and through it all she has continued to write great books full of romance, action and adventure. Here she is to tell us all about her latest, please give her a warm welcome!

 About six years ago I had a dream. To write a book and have it published in Australia. So I wrote a book. But it ended up being published in the USA. So I wrote another book and another. Things changed. The publishing industry embraced the digital era, and in early 2012 Pan Macmillan announced its new Aussie based digital imprint, Momentum.  I submitted Drive Me To Distraction to Momentum right away and was beyond thrilled when they jumped at the chance to publish it. 

Drive Me To Distraction is available from 1 November. My first novel to be published in Australia.  Its fun, fast and fabulous, and the fulfillment of a dream that’s been a few years coming.

BLURB: Drive Me To Distraction by Caitlyn Nicholas

Sometimes life or death decisions are easy. Alex Radford has a choice – borrow the money to treat her mother’s rare and aggressive cancer from sleazy moneylender Hamish MacCameron. Or do nothing and watch her die.

 MacCameron has an agenda. He wants Alex in his bed, and he wants her to help him exact revenge on his sworn enemy, Robert Dryden. He is only too happy to lend her what she needs, but the strings attached form a tangled web from which Alex has little hope of escape.

 It’s not all bad. Since she was a girl Alex has had one dream: to become a Formula 1 driver and show the boys how to drive a race car. MacCameron’s money gives her a shot at fame, and in a move that scandalizes the F1 racing fraternity she becomes the new driver for Rob Dryden’s struggling F1 team, Prometheus.

Alex tries to keep her distance from Rob, knowing that one day she will need to betray one of the few people who ever had faith in her. But things begin to unravel when Hamish MacCameron is murdered and she and Rob are the top suspects on the list …

Drive me to Distraction is now available from Amazon, Amazon UK and the ibookstore.

I have just read this book people and let me tell you it was a cracker! Cait doesn’t write any boring bits, so check it out.

TEASER:

“If he doesn’t slap my bum, make female driver jokes or tell me to brace myself because he’s the hottest boy-racer I’ve ever seen …”

Mike’s eyes continued to glaze over. They’d paused when Alex said bum, but now they continued their journey into complete ambivalence.

“… then we’ll get along just fine.”

“You’ll never get anywhere until you lose that chip.” Mike brushed an imaginary chip from her shoulder. His gaze wandered down to her chest.

“You’ll never get a un-skanky girlfriend if don’t stop perving at women’s boobs.” She rolled her eyes and zipped her heavy racing overalls up to her neck, risking heat exhaustion on this rare hot English summer day.

“I wasn’t looking at your —”

“Yes, you were.” She narrowed her eyes at him.

“You haven’t got any to look at. Why would I bother?” Mike smiled innocently.

“That is not true.” She glanced down at the nearly flat front of her overalls. She wasn’t Dolly Parton, but still.

“Anyway. My girlfriends aren’t skanky,” he said, without much conviction.

“What about that Belinda one?” Alex grimaced at the memory.

“Mmm, yeah.” He grinned. “I miss her.”

“She gave you crabs.”

“Itchy.” He fidgeted at the memory. “But she was great in —”

“Can you at least try not to be disgusting?” Alex grabbed a clipboard from her desk and swatted his arm.

“Why?” Mike looked baffled by the idea, though laughter danced in his eyes.

She shook her head, amused and exasperated. Then she left the small administration office of Thruxton Motorsport Centre with enough force to make the windows rattle in their cheap aluminium frames. Outside, the smell of baked tarmac and hot oil hung heavily in the warm still air, soothing like aromatherapy – if you bought into that girly rubbish, which she didn’t.

She glanced at her clipboard and undid her overalls a couple of inches. Mr. Robert Dryden was the next driver eager to conquer the Thruxton racetrack and attain his racing driver’s licence. At least he’d had the imagination to pick the Lotus, most wanted the Porsche or the Lamborghini.

She strode up the pit lane to where he waited leaning on the car. He turned when heard her, and smiled a warm sexy grin, teeth gleaming. Tall and lean, brown hair flopping across his dark eyes and the pale skin of an office dweller, all came together to make him meltingly handsome, in a laddish way.

Surrounded by men, working in an industry that only saw women as decorative, Alex had learned to be aloof and matter-of-fact, especially with the distractingly handsome ones. But the hint of kiss-me-nowness about his grin unsettled her. She zipped her racing overalls back up to the neck.

“You’re a girl,” he said, as soon as she got within earshot.

“And you’re an idiot.”

“Pardon?”

She ignored him. “Hi, I’m Alex. I’ll be testing you for your racing licence today.”

“You surprised me. I didn’t expect a girl.”

She glared at him, but his smile didn’t falter, and he met her eye with a long, faintly insolent, look.

“Okay.” She consulted her clipboard, even though she already knew what it said. “Let’s get in the car, and we’ll see what you can do.”

She didn’t bother to hide her reservation. Rob Dryden’s type of driver was very familiar. He couldn’t drive a racing car to save his life. It was easy to tell after a lifetime around cars. If he’d been examining the Lotus and reeling off its vital statistics the moment there was someone close enough to listen, then chances were he’d be a decent driver. But those that ignored the car, and looked at the view were never any good.

She handed him the keys, hurried around to the passenger side and wrenched the door open. Best get it over with. She waited while he buckled himself into the five-way racing harness and slid on his shiny new helmet.

“Head up the pit lane then we’ll turn out onto the track.” She pointed the way.

He stamped his foot down on the accelerator. The car protested with a strangled whine and a jarring donkey-hop, then lurched into second gear with a clunk.

“Watch it.” She glared at him. This guy was incompetent, and the mechanics would kill her if she let yet another leadfoot client bugger up the gearbox.

He shot her an irritated look. “I know what I’m doing.”

“Sure you do.”

Drive Me To Distraction is my third full-length novel, and is available from 1 November 2012 in e-book format. You can find it here, with a sample chapter if you’d like to read more: http://momentumbooks.com.au/books/drive-me-to-distraction/

I also have a Geek Girl saves the world novella, Dark Moon Rising, being published in December 2012 (check my website / blog for the details about that one – I don’t have them yet!)

 You can find me online at: http://www.caitlynnicholas.com

My blog: http://www.caitlynnicholas.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/CaitlynNicholas

Fb: https://www.facebook.com/CaitlynNicholasAuthor

Now for a few of the fun silly questions 🙂

  1. What five items would you take if you had to get out of your house in 5 mins or less

I have actually had to do this.  I’ve had run-ins with three major bushfires – a few years ago now, before the Victorian Bushfires, when the advice was stay and fight the fire, not leave early. 

 The one when I had to get out fast was before I had kids, and I was living alone.  So what did I grab?  My two cats. Shoved them into a box in the car (they were not happy), headed for the road. Discovered road was cut and it was too late to leave.  Headed back home, released very pissed off cats. Then watched as the amazing Rural Fire Services along with water bombing helicopters and a water crane saved my suburb.

We love our firefighters here at the Divas:)

 2. Describe your writing in 3 words

Fun, fast and fabulous

3. Favorite comic book superhero

Asterix.

I cannot describe how much I love the Asterix comic books.  Even better, I’ve just introduced my kids to them, and they love them as well.

 4. If you could kiss any fictional hero from history, who would it be?

Jamie – from the Diana Gabaldon Outlander series.  He’s just so… so… I have no words. Swoon.

I confess I must be the only romance fan to have never read the Outlander books. But I think I need to find out who this Jamie everyone talks about is…

5.  Best writing advice ever received

Persist.  No matter how many set backs and rejections and life drama that get in the way of your goals. Keep trying.  Because you will get there.

 Great advice!

Thanks so much to Caitlyn for being with us today!

