Last year I got to meet the delightful Ms Harrison on Facebook. I loved seeing comments from her as they always left me with a smile on my face

And then…I met her in person at the RWAus conference, and honestly, she is just lovely as can be. I am jolly proud indeed to welcome her to Day 3 of the Aussie Author Showcase at the Down Under Divas.

Welcome Ann!

Ann B Harrison

Last year I was lucky enough to join good writing buddy Annie Seaton on a trip to the States and one of the places we went was San Francisco. Oh how I love that place. We took a bus trip down the coast to Monterey and Carmel and the wild coastline took my breath away. I knew I had to write a book set in that area and it wasn’t long before Red Douglas started niggling at me to get his story down. Red Hot takes in both the city and awesome coastline with a dash of sexy thrown in.

For me Red is a different kind of hero to what I have previously written. I usually go for bossy alphas. This time I wanted a geeky unsure of his own sexuality kind of guy. I hope he comes across the my readers that way.

H

BLURB – RED HOT

Red Douglas is a geeky scientist. He rides his Ducati pushing the limits

with speed to ease his sexual frustration

Rhian Gallagher is a veterinarian suffering from a long term man drought.

When Red crashes his bike at her front door, she takes it as a sign from the

Fates.

Determined to take the shy scientist under her wing and into her bed as soon

as possible, Rhian talks him into a relationship, but fails to tell him her

wiccan secret

Their happiness depends on Red admitting there is more to the world than

what he sees under his microscope.

EXCERPT – RED HOT

A cool soft hand wiped his brow and Red struggled to open his eyes. Someone had removed his helmet and everything was foggy without the special visor.  He did a quick mental check of painful spots. His head wasn’t one of them thankfully but his ass was on fire from the contact with the road and his elbow screamed in pain.

“Shush now, just relax. Don’t struggle so, you are safe with me.”

Red tried his best to relax under the soft hum of her voice and the strange sensation of floating overcame him. His blood pressure was probably through the roof. He debated whether it was all a dream, in which case he could roll over and stay where he was to sleep it off. The pain racking his body made him more than aware that it was not the case and he had to move or risk getting run over when another vehicle came this way. He sighed and tried to open his eyes again. Without his glasses or his made to order helmet visor, he struggled to see clearly. The foggy vision that leaned over him appeared to be smiling. Her blond hair fell over her shoulders, cascading down to tickle his jaw, distracting him momentarily from the pain. The smell of fresh flowers and honey filled his brain and sent his body into overdrive.

Willing himself to stay calm he struggled to lift himself up on his arms.

“Arrgh.” Red fell back and rolled to one side, clutching his injured arm with his good hand. His breath came in short pants as he tried to control the pain that was washing over him.

“Let me see that.” The vision reached out and ran her fingers lightly down from his shoulder to his fingertips. She prodded around his elbow, moving his hand at the same time, ignoring his groans of pain. “It doesn’t appear to be broken, possibly a bad sprain though I’m thinking.” The sound of her voice washed over him and brought back memories that had lain buried in his past. “Would you be liking for me to heal this for you?” she asked, a faint Irish lilt to her voice, holding his hand in hers.

“Are you a doctor?” His voice was rugged even to his ears and he wished he could sound a bit more enthusiastic but the pain overrode any niceties he should have used.

“Of a sorts, yes.” Her soft laughter made him more aware of her holding his hand and he resisted the urge to pull away from her. “Should I try then?”

“I would hardly turn down help now, would I?” Red grimaced as another burst of pain shot through his elbow, making him break out into a cold sweat. He leaned back and closed his eyes, breathing through his mouth. When he felt more composed he watched her through heavy lidded eyes.

She lifted his hand and laid it down across his chest, then brought her palms together. Holding them to her face, thumbs on her chin, she whispered words that Red couldn’t hear clearly. Then she rubbed her hands briskly together and ran them up and down his arm before gripping his elbow firmly. The heat from her hands radiated through his arm, warming until it was almost unbearable and then dropped to a soothing warmth once again.

“There now, that should do it.” She leaned back and held a hand out to help him up. Red gripped her fingers in his and pulled himself into a sitting position. He sat quietly while his head swam and then he checked his arm.

He prodded his elbow. Finding it normal and almost pain free, he looked at her. “What kind of doctor are you?”

“Not the type you are used to, I’m sure.” She laughed.

He squinted and tried to get a clear picture of her. Red gave up and reached into the inside pocket of his jacket and withdrew his glasses case. He breathed a sigh of relief that it wasn’t damaged. He opened it and took out his offending thick glasses.

Red brushed the hair out of his eyes and slid them on. He blinked a couple of times and when his vision cleared, he looked over at his mystery woman. She sat on her heels in the grass, smiling serenely in the sunshine as he floundered for the right words. Long blonde hair flowed around her shoulders and she waited for him to speak.

Diva Couch Question Time:

  1. Imagine you had a time machine—oh let’s just call it a Tardis. What time period would you travel to and why?  Since I have a massive thing about kilts I would have to say Scotland before pants were invented. All those lovely butts encased in tartan, be still my beating heart. swoon worthy. What more can I say?
  2. What super power would you like to have and why?  I’ve always wanted to be able to fly (without the cape though) because sometimes walking isn’t just fast enough for me. My brain goes at the rate of knots and I want my body to be able to keep up with it. Not having wings slows me down. Does that make sense?
  1. If you were to design a bumper sticker or T-shirt slogan, what would it say? Funny you should ask because my daughter has just done  one that I adore. She is a bright very out there person and she gets copied heaps. It says ‘ SHEEPISM: The act of being a mindless sheep, following the herd. If you don’t think for yourself, you are giving into sheepism.

A great reminder for writers to be yourself I think and keep your own voice.

  1. Describe your favorite outfit. Jeans or shorts depending on the weather and t-shirt. I’m a slob, I admit it freely. Comfort over style every time for me, I don’t do dresses at all.
  2. What is your worst vice or habit? Procrastinating instead of writing. I need a major supply of bum glue and this year I have committed myself to writing in blocks of 500 words times six every day. I need a goal or I fluff around too much. I did manage six books last year but still, I can tidy up my writing habits a lot more.
  3. As you’re typing the answers to these questions, what are you wearing? (that’s not a naughty question unless you have a dirty mind…) I do but I’ll contain myself. I’m doing this in the car on our way home from our Christmas break with our youngest daughter so I’m in shorts and singlet. It’s a two day drive so I need comfort. 🙂
  1. Tattoos—love or hate? Love them. All of my kids are big fans and I got my first one in Las Vegas last year at Hart and Huntington. The kids were so envious.

Thank you Ann for joining us here at the Divas. For more information about Ann and her books, please visit her website

Jess

