Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 12.04.12 PMThis Friday evening marks the beginning of the inaugural Newcastle Writers Festival. I’m speaking on the Saturday evening session, What Women Want: A Discussion about Desire, with Anita Heiss and Marion Halligan. Dr. Anita Heiss is an Indigenous Literacy Day Ambassador and a proud member of the Wiradjuri nation of central New South Wales and Marion Halligan is one of Australia’s most prolific and awarded authors. (I know, I’m still stunned I’m on a panel with them both.) I can’t wait to meet these amazing writers and look forward to seeing what women really do want during our session.

You can find out more about the Newcastle Writer’s Festival at the official website (click here). The festival runs for three days with some amazing sessions and I’m absolutely chuffed to be a part of it.

flat,550x550,075,f

I moved to Newcastle in 1993. I grew up in Tamworth, a rural city with a country town feel. Moving to Newcastle to study at university, I was a tad nervous. I am a country girl at heart and the idea of life in the big city scared me.

AU148A1

But Newcastle turned out to be just a country town in big city clothes. It’s a wonderful place to live, with friendly people, a rich multi-cultural heritage and beaches so beautiful you could just sit and watch the waves breaking on the sand all day (if you didn’t have to worry about deadlines. Grrr).

half_newcastle01

If you’re within driving distance of Newey, I’d love to see you Saturday night. 🙂

 

Lexx

 

 

