Today I’d like you to welcome a brilliant new Escape Publishing author by the name of Ros Baxter. Ros has beenRos B writing since she was eight and penned a whimsical series of short stories about a race of tiny people who lived on a rainbow. While a few things intervened – a career in social policy, four children – Ros started writing again in earnest three years ago. In that time, Ros secured a two-book deal with Harper Collins Australia, published Sister Pact (a romantic comedy co-written with her sister Ali), been a contributing author to the e-anthology URL Love, and finaled in the STALI competition. Ros writes transporting stories about love, family, friendship and women in all their glorious strength and contrariness. She loves to turn up the sizzle, throwing heroes and heroines into screwy and sometimes fantastical situations and watching how they take the heat. Ros lives in Brisbane’s North with her husband Blair, four noisy children under eight, a neurotic dog and nine billion germs.

Ros’s April release about a mermaid cop (yes you read that right), is perfect for those who like quirky, capable heroines and zany situations and…. oh well, why don’t I let her tell you about it?

Ros, what made you write a book about a mermaid cop?

For me, it was time to write a book about someone totally different from me.  I’m kind of geeky, wussy and unfit.  I often walk away thinking “I should have said…”  My mermaid cop is cool, smart-mouthed and hard-as-nails (despite a few whopper hidden vulnerabilities). 

 I’d also been reading the Norse legends of Aegir, God of the boundless seas, and his magical daughters, the billow maidens.  I think it was the nine daughters that really captured my imagination.  Each has a sea-name (like Eistla (Foamer) and Atla (Fury).  I fell in love with these magnificent sisters, children of a God. In my story, they’re cursed by a jealous sorcerer and become the Queens of the underwater kingdom of Aegira (think Atlantis on steroids).

 But most of all, I wanted to write about being torn between two worlds (as many of us are).  Land and sea became the vehicle for this.  My mermaid is very grounded (she’s a cop, a lover, a misbehaver).  But she’s also a child of the sea.  She swims, sings and thinks like a mermaid.  And of course, it wouldn’t be any fun unless she was also torn between two men who represent those worlds – her solider-of-fortune ex and a sexy, wolfish merman with secrets of his own.

 I loved intertwining romance, Norse legend, gumshoe mystery and modern pop culture to create this quirky, layered tale.  I hope you love it too.

 Here’s the blurb for Fish Out of Water:

Fish Out of WaterDirtwater’s straight-talking Deputy Sheriff has a lot on her plate: a nicotine addiction that’s a serious liability for a mermaid, a solider-of-fortune ex who’s hooked on her Mom’s brownies, a gorgeous, naked stranger in her shower, and a mysterious dead blonde with a fish tattoo on Main Street.

Oh, and one other thing.

She’s scheduled to die on her thirtieth birthday – in three weeks – unless she can ‘change the course of destiny and save the world entire’. Throw in a Mom who’s the local Mayor and a Dad who’s been locked in the county jail for twelve years, and that’s all the trouble she needs without her mermaid roots coming back to haunt her.

Rania’s heading home to Aegira for a family wedding but she’s starting to have a sinking feeling that’s got nothing to do with hydroporting seven miles under the sea and everything to do with some weird connections that seem to be emerging between her, the dead blonde, her Mom’s shady past and a ten thousand year old prophesy. Now if she can just steal a corpse, get a crazy Aegirian priest off her case, work out who the hell’s trying to kill her and stop sleeping with the fishes, she might be able to unravel the prophesy, the mystery of the missing choirgirls and the secrets hidden in her Mom’s past. And maybe even save her own ass while she’s at it.

Excerpt:

Mermaids don’t wear nicotine patches.  They don’t drink Southern Comfort from a hip flask, inhale twinkies or watch Dr Phil.  Mermaids don’t pack heat.  And mermaids definitely don’t get their hearts broken by tattooed guys who look like pirates.  In fact, mermaids have always been kinda down on pirates… but that’s another story.  The cardinal rule is this: mermaids don’t live in bone-dry frontier towns. Ever. 

But here’s the thing.  Me, I don’t leave home without my patches, hip flask and Glock.  My last moment of true moderation was back in kindergarten, when I stopped myself from using my awesome strength to rip Jamie Kennedy’s pecker off when he waved it at Julie Casey in the bathroom and made her cry.  And don’t even start me on my penchant for pirates. 

But I am, in fact, a mermaid. So go figure.

Well, technically, Mom’s folks call themselves Aegirans, and they don’t sprout tails, but they’re the closest thing to mermaids under the sea.  And, as much as it used to hurt, I’m what they call a dirt-dweller, seeing as Mom was a runaway, Dad’s Sicilian and we live on The Land. 

But not for long.  You see, I’ve only got three weeks to live.  Give or take. 

Fish Out of Water is available from Escape Publishing, or Amazon.
Find out more at www.rosbaxterink.com

Now Ros, I’d like to invite you to the Diva Couch for the grilling… I mean interview.

Name your celebrity free pass

It’s got to be Joe Manganiello.  Okay, it’s gratuitous, but here he is.  Need I say more?

S: Don’t think you can have him without fighting me

 If you knew your next meal would be your last, what would you have?

 Anything cooked by someone else (I’d have better things to do)!

Describe your writing in 3 words

Hip.  Quirky.  Sexy.

Imagine you had a time machine—oh let’s just call it a Tardis. What time period would you travel to and why?

2070.  So I can harass my kids from the grave.

What super power would you like to have and why?

Easy.  The power to suspend time, without ageing or Back-to-the-Future-esque storyline complications, while I get some stuff done.  And sleep for fifteen hours.

If you were to design a bumper sticker or T-shirt slogan, what would it say?

Caution: driver plotting constantly.

As you’re typing the answers to these questions, what are you wearing? (that’s not a naughty question unless you have a dirty mind)

Other people’s dinner!

S: That answer was actually dirtier than I thought. LOL.

Thanks Ros for visiting with the Divas today!

 

