To me, being gay was something I always considered normal. I grew up with a homosexual uncle and understood that he simply preferred to spend time with men, so had decided not to marry a woman and have children (paraphrasing my mother’s explanation to a six-year-old as to why her brother wasn’t going to produce me a cousin to play with). Six-year-old me shrugged and thought ‘sure, whatever’ (again, paraphrasing). Also one of my favorite bands when I was little was Queen. I used to dance around singing to ‘Crazy Little Thing Called Love’ and declare that I would marry Freddie Mercury when I grew up. Again, my mother was there to inform me that such a situation was highly unlikely. Oh damn, I thought. Another one who doesn’t want to marry a woman. I was running out of bridegroom options and I was only eight.

Luckily I discovered other Hollywood crushes and moved on from Freddie. Although even now at the age of forty-one I have rather aNPHarrisRTrachtenberg4RS crush on Neil Patrick Harris, so perhaps my stubborn tendency to want what I can’t have has never truly waned :).

When I decided to write a menage a trois story a few years back I thought it would be an MFM, as I had done one of those before. But this time I wanted to see what it was like to write a book that ended in a HEA for all three people, and I figured it would be easier to believe a HEA in that circumstance if the men were also involved with each other (this was me being pragmatic—having two men focussed on one woman is all fun and games in the beginning, but eventually that girl’s gonna get tired, you know what I’m sayin’?).

So, I decided, ‘I’ll write an MMF’.

Easy decision—difficult book to write. But as torturous as it was at times, I fell in love with my characters and am now glad I wrote the book the way I did. The process gave me a fuller understanding of what it might be like to be bisexual, a fuller understanding of love and its awesome power. It’s stronger than society’s expectations, than any one individual’s expecations—because sometimes a person simply loves another person, and their gender becomes secondary to that love. Imagine that!

Thanks for coming to celebrate GLBT month with the Divas!

Erica’s Choice: Excerpt (WARNING: FIVE ALARM HOT!!!!)EC Cover 200x300

With a minimum of preamble, Griff slipped his hand back beneath Erica’s skirt to touch silken skin. She had one foot on each side of the gearstick already, but her thighs fell apart farther when he traced the edge of her cotton underwear.

She was all sultry heat and yielding softness, the embodiment of feminine temptation. Burying his face in the sweet-smelling curtain of her hair, Griff pushed his finger inside her slick channel and groaned at the ease of his entry. “You’re so wet, Red. Tight and soft, just how I want you.”

Her words were a breathless accusation. “You made me this way.”

Griff chuckled and brushed his lips over Erica’s earlobe. “Corey started it, but you liked knowing I could hear everything that was going on. It made you hotter, didn’t it? It made you all slippery and ready for my touch.”

When she didn’t immediately respond, Griff gave her earlobe a sharp little nip. She gasped and thrust her hips into the steady motion of his hand. “Yes,” she admitted. “It turned me on. I like you being here too.”

Corey emitted a guttural noise. There was helpless arousal in the sound, with an underpinning discontent Griff couldn’t deny. Corey had wanted Erica to himself tonight, but here she was wedged between the two of them because Griff had been—face it—a bit of a selfish prick. He’d made sure he got what he wanted, no matter that it usurped Corey’s plans. The fact that Erica wanted this too didn’t nullify what it cost Corey to give up the alone time with Erica he’d been aching for.

Griff had no intention of stealing Erica out from under his friend, even if she was turning out to be a sexual firecracker, a forceful woman capable of ensuring her needs were met. In other words, much more Griff’s type than he’d realized.

He pushed aside the inkling of regret that surfaced at the idea of giving Erica up after only one night. “Corey.” Griff waited until Corey tore his eyes off Erica’s face to meet his gaze. “It’ll be all right. It’s like a treat for her, both of us wanting her so bad, making her feel good. Just this once.”

“Yeah, I get it.” Despite the words, uncertainty remained in Corey’s expression. He licked his lips in a nervous gesture. “What do I do?”

Oh fuck. A thousand possibilities flitted through Griff’s mind, at least half of them things that were definitely not on the menu. His cock jerked inside his jeans. His heart became a wild, hammering thing in his chest.

All because Corey Wachawski had licked his lips and asked for instructions.

Holy shit.

Erica whimpered in disappointment, making Griff realize he’d stilled the motion of his finger. He returned his attention to her, trying to wrestle his unwelcome Corey-related urges back into the lockbox they’d been stuffed in for going on five years now. Firmly reminding himself that they belonged there, always, because Corey’s sexuality was not a malleable thing, the way his was.

“How about it, Red?” His voice was thick, his query slow in coming. Desire seemed to have swollen his tongue. “Do you want Corey to kiss those pretty tits of yours?”

Yes.

Corey was working at the buttons of her blouse before the word was out of Erica’s mouth. Griff saw the other man’s fingers trembling as he parted Erica’s blouse and shifted her bra cups aside, exposing her breasts. The full globes were just visible in the scant light from the dash instruments, but Griff’s breath caught.

Corey sighed. “Erica, you’re perfect.” Then he bent his head to her.

The soft sucking sounds Corey made as he gave Erica’s breasts their due attention made Griff’s cock buck and weep inside his Levis. “That’s it, Cor, suck those tasty nipples. Make her squirm.” Griff wasn’t even sure Corey heard him because his voice was so raspy. He whispered in Erica’s ear. “You like it, Red? You just about ready to come?”

Her incoherent moan wasn’t clear, but the hot spill of her feminine juice on his fingers screamed yes. She was close to losing it. Hell, Griff was close to losing it himself, merely from the sound and smell of her—of both of them.

The metallic noise of Corey’s zipper being lowered rent the claustrophobic space of his car’s interior. Griff squeezed his eyes shut, as though that could somehow lessen the impact of the knowledge that Erica was blindly reaching into Corey’s open jeans and fondling his cock.

_____________________

Hot, right? Erica’s Choice is available at all your usual retailers, and probably a few unusual ones as well 🙂

Samhain        Amazon       B&N

And it will be out in print next month!!!!

Yay!

Cheers,

Sami

