RC ~ Today’s guest is Tara Lain. I was lucky enough to ‘meet’ Tara when we were both contracted by the same publishing house, Etopia Press. And each year at RT we manage to grab a few seconds to say hi in person. And I have to say she’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Now you all get to meet her too! Take it away Tara!

 

Ready to Meet the Beautiful Boys of Romance?

Hi everyone. I’m Tara Lain and I write the Beautiful Boys of Romance. Thank you so much to the Down Under Divas for inviting me today to their MM romance celebration!  There’s some FREE goodies down at the bottom of this blog so be sure to check them out.

Yep, I write MM romance. Have you ever read one? I’m guessing many of you have but If not, you might want to give it a try. After all, the average reader of MM romance is a woman between 20 and 60. And most writers of MM romance are women. Surprising, huh?

I had never read M/M romance until a few years ago.  In fact, I didn’t even know that M/M fiction existed and, if I had known, it wouldn’t have occurred to me to read it. I didn’t own an e-reader so I bought my paperbacks from Amazon. But I did like erotic romance. I was reading a favorite  erotic romance author’s MF paranormal books and loved them, so I ordered another book of hers from Amazon without reading the blurb! Imagine my surprise when it arrived and was a M/M book. I started to read, kind of looking over my shoulder to be sure no one was watching!  I loved it and was totally hooked! I was writing my first novel at the time, a MF romance about an older female scientist who has a passion for her younger male research partner. I loved the dynamics of the MM so much, I added another man to the story and Genetic Attraction was born. It’s an award-winning MMF ménage. Then I had to go back and explain how the two men fell in love in The Scientist and the Supermodel. Just like that, I was a MM writer!

TL_GeneticAttraction_coverin

Now I write my Beautiful Boys of Romance in all descriptions. One of my recent releases is a quirky, LGBT contemporary erotic romance called Hearts and Flour about the unlikely attraction between a vegan, raw-food fanatic and a cupcake baker.

HeartsandFlour_ByTaraLain_453x680

 

I currently have 17 published books, three more in various stages of contracting, and three works-in-progress. All but one have either gay or bisexual heroes. As you can tell, I’m thoroughly hooked on writing MM fiction. Here are a few things I’ve learned reading and writing male/male books:

  • Male/male books have fewer gender stereotypes. It’s not unusual in these books for both men to be hunky alphas, for one of them to be more effeminate but still very dominant, or any combination. My artist character in Fire Balls is tiny and effeminate but also a black belt in karate and a dominant in bed, while big, hunky JJ LaRousse in Snow Balls is more queen than quarterback.
  • If you are a female reader, you don’t have a woman in these books with whom you automatically identify so you get the experience of identifying with a man. And you get to choose which one or ones you most want to relate to.
  • If you’re a gay man reading a M/M book, you get to see your world imagined by someone who has no limitations of your real life constraining the fantasy. No “but that never happened to me so it can’t happen.” You get a bigger fantasy.
  • You get to see two men (or more if you read my books LOL) in love which is very cool. It’s not the same as women in love with men. It’s just not. Since, for many male couples, marriage and family isn’t yet the common practice (hope it will be soon), the relationship has to be about more than security or fulfilling family or societal expectations. There’s a “pure love” quality to MM romance which I find just irresistible.
  • Gay or bisexual men still bear huge burdens of discrimination so, even if those issues play a small role in the story, you get to admire the bravery of men who declare their love for each other.
  • Men can be just as sappy and emotional as women. I know. I read MM romances by male writers too.  The deeply felt emotions pour from the pages and the ever-after is just as happy.
  • And, of course, the simplest reason. If like me you adore men, then two is better!

I think authors of gay romance contribute to people’s understanding of the world and help us see, as Jambrea said, that sex is sex and love is love. I’ve had and continue to have many gay friends who have made my life better and I’m happy, in a small way,  to be able to pay that forward.

But all the serious stuff aside, if you own an ereader, you don’t even have to glance over your shoulder like I did to see who’s looking!  LOL I hope you’ll let some beautiful boys creep into your reading among those alpha males and feisty females.  Bet you’ll be a convert too.

I have a FREE read for you. Over at the MM Romance Group on Goodreads, you can download my newest release, Love You So Hard. This story was written to a prompt from a reader and here is the picture I used as inspiration!

BottomYousohard

I also hope you’ll come over and check out my brand new website www.taralain.com . I just switched over to the new format, and hope you like it. Leave me a comment and let me know if you do.

Last but not least, leave me a comment with your email on this blog post and I’ll give one commenter an ebook copy of Hearts and Flour.

And don’t forget my next release is Cataclysmic Shift, a MM paranormal, and it’s out July 23rd!

Thanks so much for coming by! : )

 

profpixcopy

Tara Lain writes the Beautiful Boys of Romance in LGBT erotic romance novels that star her unique, charismatic heroes. Her first novel was published in January of 2011 and she’s now somewhere around book 20. Her best-selling novels have garnered awards for Best Series, Best Contemporary Romance, Best Ménage, Best LGBT Romance, Best Gay Characters, and Tara has been named Best Writer of the Year in the LRC Awards. In her other job, Tara owns an advertising and public relations firm. She often does workshops on both author promotion and writing craft. She lives with her soul-mate husband and her soul-mate dog in Laguna Beach, California, a pretty seaside town where she sets a lot of her books. Passionate about diversity, justice, and new experiences, Tara says on her tombstone it will say “Yes”!

 

