I’m writing a new book and really loving it right now. Of course this is the first rush of love, the honeymoon stage of the book writing process. The first three chapters are always fun, getting to know your characters and letting them steer the story. It seems like it’s all going to work out right now, and that you and your characters are always going to get along.

By chapter five it’s usually a different story and I’ll want to strangle them.

But for right now, I’m determined to love them as much as possible. I’ve decided my hero Aaron, is a dead ringer for Bradley Cooper:

Bradley Cooper 3

Now that’s inspiring, isn’t it? I’ve made a Bradley Cooper desktop picture, and a log in picture. I even made my start screen all nice and light blue just like his eyes. All in the name of keeping myself in the zone, you see. It’s not weird or stalky as some might suggest (namely my hubby :)).

I thought I’d share the first, completely unedited and probably very messy, paragraph of the rough draft.

Smoking cigars was a nasty habit, as was drinking fine scotch and chasing loose women, but Aaron Sanderson had never found adequate motivation to quit doing any one of them. Which was how he came to be parked at the beach at six thirty in the morning, unashamedly admiring the finest specimen of female flesh that had ever set foot in Leyton’s Headland while puffing on one of the secret Cohibas he kept in the glove compartment of his Jeep Cherokee.

            And unrepentantly enjoying every second of it.

Okay so that’s definitely messy :). But I’m in love right now so I don’t care.

Sami

