Robin Williams has been on my screens, either TV or movie, for almost my whole life. When I was 5 years old Mork and Mindy was my favourite show. My mother used to call me in from outside so I could see it, because I would be devastated if I missed the beginning. I was going to grow up and move to Boulder Colorado so I could live with Mork, right or wrong.

Then with Robin moved on to movies he showed how versatile he was. The sensitivity he brought to his more serious roles was sublime. One of my favourite movie scenes of all time is the ‘It’s not your fault’ scene in Good Will Hunting. I cannot watch it without tearing up.

But then there are so many great moments. The Oh Captain my Captain scene from Dead Poet’s Society, the hilarious restaurant scene in Mrs. Doubtfire, his chilling performances in One Hour Photo and Insomnia, the DJing sequences in Good Morning Vietnam that I believe no body else in the world could have pulled off. the countless voice overs he provided for animated movies… the list could go on. Let’s just say it’s difficult for me to imagine a world where there will never be a new Robin Williams film, and I’m very very sad today.

Awakenings dead-poets-society robin-williams-13 6370_good-will-hunting-640 robin-williams Mrs-Doubtfire-525x324

Nanoo, nanoo Mork

Sami

