Picture it. It was 2008. I’d just had a book rejected for what I in hindsight see were valid reasons, but at the time I was not happy. I was wailing about my short-lived writing career being in the toilet, stuffing my face full of fish and chips and magnum ice creams and threatening to give up writing and buy a coffee van (something the other Divas will tell you I still threaten to do at least once a year).

Then I was perusing the Samhain Publishing website looking for inspiration and I see it: A call for submissions for an anthology of novellas, and the theme was ménage a trois.

Hmmm. I’d only written one erotic story, a short story. I’d never even thought to attempt a ménage. I’d read a few and found them hot, but not particularly romantic. I was a ROMANCE author. Was it possible to write a ménage a trois novella and make it romantic?

As Barney Stinson would say, CHALLENGE. ACCEPTED.Chasing Sunset Cover

My enthusiasm for writing was renewed. I thought if nothing else, it would be fun. And it was. I can’t say I wrote Chasing Sunset in 10 days, but I did write it from start to finish fairly quickly, laughing and giggling all the way. I couldn’t believe I was writing such things. I was being outrageously rude and loving every minute of it.

Turned out Samhain didn’t think Chasing was suitable for the anthology call but they did want to publish it on its own. It came out in December of that year and I found out I really enjoyed writing ménage at trois stories, thanks very much. I loved Sidney McCall, the woman who jumps at the opportunity when her boyfriend suggests a ménage with him and his best friend.

Chasing Sunset Snippet:

 “I think it’s time you both stripped. I only have two hands you know.”

Brody walked toward the bed. Sid’s gaze was riveted by the play of his hands as he did her bidding and started to slide down his trousers. “Drew, you should have told me what a saucy wench your girlfriend could be.”

Drew stepped forward too, opening his fly. “What, you wouldn’t have done this?”

“No.” Brody toed off his shoes, and dropped his pants and briefs. “I’d have insisted on doing it sooner.”

With a deft tug, Drew’s jeans went the way of Brody’s trousers. “Like I would have let you near my girl.”

“I’m pretty close to her now, butthead.”

“That’s different. This was my idea.”

“Boys, boys,” Sidney interjected. “This is no time to fight.” Especially not when her level of desire had shot up dramatically at the sight of them both gloriously naked. She fluttered her eyelashes. “Not over little ol’ me.”

Brody made that curt sound again and stepped forward to frame her face in his big, square hands. “Unbelievably wicked.” He captured her mouth in rough desire and reached down to grasp her breast. His touch was devoid of the gentleness he’d employed earlier. Sid gasped into his mouth, shock and delight intermingling.

By the time he pulled back she was breathless, less in control than she had felt a moment ago.

Sid moaned and dropped her head to the side as Drew settled himself beside her and trailed kisses along her neck. Her lips parted as Brody traced their shape with his finger. When he dipped the finger inside her mouth, Sid latched on and sucked it farther in, opening her eyes to see pure lust transform his expression. She could smell the musky aroma of his arousal.

Lowering her gaze, she saw the jut of his erection, huge and blushed crimson, only inches from her face. She released his finger and gave his length a meaningful glance. “Brody, let me.”

Does he let her? Well I think you can guess the answer to that 🙂

Sami

